Leeds City Academy

Diana Award Roll of Honour 

Leeds City Academy Student Honoured in Prestigious Global Award

To celebrate Princess Diana’s Birthday this 20th Anniversary year, The Diana Award has released their Roll of Honour for 2017. The names of over 750 outstanding young people, from across the UK and the world, was announced on 1st July. All the award winners have had a monumental impact on society and lives of those in their communities.

Mohamad from Leeds City Academy is a Syrian refugee forced to flee the war when he was just 10 years old, and has overcome incredible adversity in his lifetime including being shot in the thigh during an attack at his school. Learning English, he has used his experience to inspire and mobilise his peers into taking action and recognise the hardship faced by refugees. He has built social action projects to show the struggles faced by children caught in war-torn countries and has coordinated presentations on the issue. Mohamad is always happy to share his experiences, selflessly supporting
his family where possible.

Tessy Ojo, Chief Executive, The Diana Award said: “We are delighted to announce our Roll of Honour on Princess Diana’s Birthday as we shine a spotlight on her legacy twenty years on. Today we celebrate young people for their selfless contribution to society, their courage and bravery, sometimes in the face of adversity.”

Andrew Whitaker, Executive Principal of The White Rose Academies Trust, adds: "I am delighted and proud of Mohamad's prestigious commendation in The Diana Award’s Roll of Honour. The young people in our care never fail to impress and surprise me with their bravery, determination and aspiration to succeed. We are truly surrounded by young heroes who inspire us every day. Thank you to The Diana Awards for supporting and fostering our students’ incredible bravery.”

Following the announcement, Mohamad has been featured on ITV Yorkshire's Calendar news. To watch the feature, please visit the ITV Yorkshire website here.

For more information about The Diana Awards and to download their Roll of Honour, click here.