Leeds City Academy




To be an exceptional and responsive academy sponsor providing life changing education, skills and experiences for individuals in our academies and in their communities.


  • We believe that education can transform lives
  • We respect the individual, relishing the contribution that diversity brings
  • We strive to be the best we can be, actively and with pride
  • We look after our environment to keep it safe, healthy and inclusive
  • We lead by example and work as a team 
  • We take responsibility for our own actions and are active in finding solutions to any problems
  • We respond flexibly to the needs of our students and take advantage of opportunities in the City of Leeds and the wider world







Ken Hall

Former headteacher at Priesthorpe School in West Leeds. Currently teaching on the NPQH (National Professional Qualification for Headteachers) at Leeds Beckett University and a mentor for Teaching Leaders.

Staff Governor

Helen Ward

(Coming soon)

College Nominee

Steven Hope

(Coming soon)

Board Nominee

Erica Hiorns

School improvement Adviser, Leeds City Council

College Nominee

Emma Sullivan

(Coming soon)

Board Nominee

Ann Nicholl

Lay Minister - Parish of Leeds City. Formerly Head of Agnes Stewart Church of England High School

Board Nominee

Sophie Greenwood

Programme Manager, The Ahead Partnership


Jasmin Gani

Parent Governor

Support Staff

Helen Ward

Student Receptionist and Employability Co-Ordinator

Teaching Staff

David Pedro

Teacher of History

Executive Principal

Andrew Whitaker


Jackie Rose

 LAB Attendance Register

13.09.16 11.10.16 06.12.16 07.02.17 25.04.17 16.05.17 13.06.17 18.07.17
Mr Ken Hall X X X X X X X X
Ms Gemma Simmons X X N X X X X  
Ms Erica Hiorns X X X X X X X X
Ms Ann Nicholl N N X X N X X N
Ms Sophie Greenwood X X X X X X X X
Ms Jasmin Gani     X X N X X X
Ms Helen Ward X X X X X X X X
Mr David Pedro     X X X X X X
Mr Steven Hope           X X X
Ms Jackie Rose X X X X X X X X
Ms Tracy Foy   X X X X X X X
Mr Mike Gidley N N X X X N X X
Mr Andrew Whitaker X X N X N N X X
Ms Emma Sullivan Mat Leave             X


Name Background
Anthony Blackwell Director, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP.
Colin Booth OBE Chief Executive and Principal, Leeds City College.
Cllr. Caroline Gruen Councillor for Bramley and Stanningley Ward, Leeds City Council. Former Director of Education, Calderdale Council and Head of learning, Kirklees Council.
Andrew Witchell Biography coming soon.
Erica Hiorns (Vice Chair) School Improvements Adviser, Leeds City Council.
Jane Pither Deputy Principal Corporate Services and Resource Management, Leeds City College
Prof. Darren Shickle Professor of Public Health, University of Leeds. Formerly Chair of the Standards and Curriculum Committees at both Leeds East and Leeds West Academies.
Christine Smith (Chair) A commercial general manager with extensive cross functional experience, combining financial and commercial skills. Formerly a Category Director at Morrisons, now with Intertek Testing Services Ltd. A current governor of Leeds City College.
Claire Rix (Details to follow) Co-optee.
Andrew Whitaker Executive Principal
In accordance with the company’s Articles of Association, the Directors may appoint up to 3 co-opted Directors